The Math Performance Festival is adjudicated by the celebrity judges listed above, along with a committee of mathematics & science educators and mathematicians.


"Thanks so much for providing an opportunity to showcase math work on your nifty website.  Math Rocks and it's great to spread the word."

"At our school assembly today we shared our two winning projects with the approximately 600 girls at our JK - Grade 12 school.  The feedback was fantastic.  Thank you for helping to inspire our students to enjoy math as a performance activity."

Most recent submissions

From Toronto, Canada ... Symmetry ... Grades 2/3


From Toronto, Canada ... Math-a-Mite ... Grade 2/3


From Brampton, Canada ... Math + Science Song... Grade 2


From Toronto, Canada ... The Height of Time ... Grade 1/2


From Brazil ... Odd numbers - grade 4



Awards 2015 - the last year of our Festival!

See Penn Kemp's and Jay Ingram's picks and comments..



Congratulations to students from Brazil and Dr. Ricardo Scucuglia R. Da Silva

See newspaper interview at:


Awards 2014

Congratulations to Kindergarten students from Oakridge PS, Mississauga for "Addition Song"

Congratulations to École Ste-Marguerite-Bourgeoys students & teachers - for Environmental Theme song!

Grades 2 and 4 students (and teachers) from Brazil receive their medals. Congratulations!


Case stories (2013)

Stories of how some of the math performances were developed.

Case stories (2014)

Stories of how some of the math performances were developed.



Interviews with teachers whose students participate in the Festival

Dan Grant (Bayview Hill Elementary School, Richmond Hill, Ontario)

Sarah Sils (St. Mildred's-Lightbourn School, Oakville, Ontario)

Marlie Delicieux (Hillmount Public School, North York, Ontario)

Iain Brodie (St. Andrews PS, Scarborough, ON)





The Math Performance Festival is funded by the Imperial Oil Foundation, the Fields Institute, Research Western, the Faculty of Education at UWO, and the Canadian Mathematical Society. A project by George Gadanidis (UWO), Marcelo Borba (UNESP, Brazil), Susan Gerofsky (UBC), and Rick Jardine (UWO).